Example applications using Plura

Plura is a unique blend of processing power and bandwidth.  It is not quite a cluster and has features that make it unique from grid computing projects like Folding@home.

I’d like to give some examples of problems that are being solved with Plura today.  I’ll post more details about these in the future:

Stock Market SimulationsQuant R&D is using Plura to analyze the stock market using an all-vs-all data strategy.  Quant’s problem boils down to wanting to run complex simulations on pairs of stocks from the entire stock market.  Each simulation is relatively expensive, but it can be broken up into pieces.  Quant uses 1-minute stock market data and one stock’s data over the time period they analyze is about 1MB compressed.  To stay within Plura node memory limitations and to minimize bandwidth needs, they want to reuse the stocks as much as possible.  So, they use Plura data groups to ensure Plura nodes get to reuse the stock data they have already downloaded as often as possible.  This means that a typical Plura node will download two 1MB pieces of data and will then proceed to work on WUs (work units) using those two pieces of data for quite some time (probably longer than the life of the node).

Custom Web Crawling80legs is using Plura to do distributed web crawling.  Rather than having data centers with very fat pipes, they use a portion of the bandwidth of the Plura nodes to crawl the web.  In order to improve the success ratio for each work unit, 80legs sends out Plura WUs with very few URLs to crawl.  The economics of this are incredibly dramatic compared to data center bandwidth.

Prime Number Search – As a sample application, Plura has created a distributed prime factoring engine that is doing pre-factoring for large Mersenne primes.  We are using this application to demonstrate a different data model for Plura.  This model has no specific data, but each WU contains a specific amount of factoring to do.  In the next weeks or months, we will release yet another prime number application that implements the Lucas-Lehmer test for Mersenne primes.  This will show yet another data model for Plura, so stay tuned for more information.

We have other customers that are in various stages of evaluating Plura usage for a variety of applications.  We’ll release details on these if and when they agree to do so.  In the mean time, if you want to explore the possibility of running any particular algorithm on Plura, feel free to contact us.

19 Responses to “Example applications using Plura”


  1. 1 source for this article February 16, 2013 at 3:44 am

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your content seem to be running off
    the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post
    to let you know. The layout look great though!

    Hope you get the issue fixed soon. Thanks

  2. 2 best seo package March 8, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    This website absolutely keeps on getting more impressive every time I see it.

    You should really be proud.

  3. 3 stockpair scam March 26, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    Hola! I’ve been reading your weblog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the excellent job!

  4. 4 general April 11, 2013 at 8:57 am

    What a data of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable experience about
    unpredicted feelings.

  5. 5 fill May 12, 2013 at 5:19 am

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I’ve really loved surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I’m hoping
    you write again soon!

  6. 6 plan seo May 23, 2013 at 11:15 am

    I never imagined I would need to be familiar with this thank goodness for the internet, right?

  7. 7 Leonor June 2, 2013 at 9:23 am

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came to “return the favor”.

    I’m attempting to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  8. 8 pain on left side of back June 2, 2013 at 9:24 pm

    Every weekend i used to go to see this site, for the reason that i wish for enjoyment, for the reason that this this web page conations actually
    pleasant funny information too.

  9. 9 homesecuritydeals.com June 12, 2013 at 3:35 am

    Somebody necessarily help to make significantly articles I’d state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this particular submit amazing. Fantastic task!

  10. 10 seo services plan July 25, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the images on
    this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  11. 11 http://blog.dramafever.com/2013/05/help-wanted-join-the-dating-agency-cyrano-drama-club/ July 31, 2013 at 10:28 am

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter
    stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following.

    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since
    exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case
    you shield this increase.

  12. 12 Verla July 31, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    Remarkable things here. I’m very satisfied to see your article. Thank you a lot and I’m taking a
    look forward to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  13. 13 Alfonzo August 2, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    We stumbled over here different website and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page repeatedly.

  14. 14 affordable seo packages August 10, 2013 at 3:30 am

    We absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content in your
    case? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome site!

  15. 15 Bluehost Review October 1, 2013 at 4:45 am

    Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

  16. 16 beer January 13, 2014 at 1:52 am

    A person essentially assist to maoe critically posts
    I might state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page and up to now?
    I amazed wit the analysis you made to create this particular post extraordinary.
    Magnificent task!

  17. 17 web site February 18, 2014 at 11:23 am

    Great delivery. Solid arguments. Keep up the amazing spirit.

  18. 18 Johnc120 May 23, 2014 at 10:17 pm

    I do not even know how I stopped up here, however I assumed this put up was good. I do not recognise who you are however definitely you’re going to a wellknown blogger for those who are not already egfdcgaeefdg

  19. 19 Mary Kom August 16, 2014 at 12:40 am

    Nevertheless, the title track is trippy, the loops loopy, so shake that booty with
    the crazies. These films have further shot the popularity of
    these destinations. com is one of the most popular Website
    for Selling Bollywood Sarees:.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

